What to study to get TSM Certified?

LED888

ADSM.ORG Moderator
Reaction score
Website
http
I would like to be TSM certified, but I do not know which red book(s) to study?

What did you study to pass the certification?

What is the passing score?

:confused:

Thanks,

Sias

Redbooks are not sufficent for good training.

You'd better get the Admin training and have some time to practice.

After that the Admin Book will be sufficent.

Good luck and welcome in TSM world.

Your right that Redbooks are not sufficent for good training.

The Redbook(s) is a good reference guide. :rolleyes: Well, to a certian point.

I know I am scratching the surface right now with TSM.

Hi All,

recently i have join this forum, its really very intresting to share our experience.
i have a querry as i am new to the IBM-TSM, however i am reading Red Books & Other stuff. but still looking for any Interactive Training material for the sake of learning or kind of Demos/Presentation Learning.

Thanks & Best Regards,
itsiraj

the best way is just trying it for couple of months , then read the dump's on alpos.net.

I read TSM Concepts and TSM Certification Study Guide. Also I got TSM Implementation and DR training. Started with the red books after 2 months of using TSM and after other 3 months I was certified (Implementation). They're changing the passing score in time. Check IBM site for current requirements.

75% is the required passing score to certify TSM version 5.3. There will be approximately 57 questions, that means you need to have at least 43 correct answers.

Besides TSM backup methodologies, also requires Basic Operating System/networking/Storage Device (Disk, tape, Optical, NAS)/Hardware Methodologies.

What is good training then?

I haven't found anything that is really good in the way of training for the cert. My strategy is read the Redbooks while sitting at a open terminal of my test TSM server, trying stuff I haven't done before as I read through it.