TSM Tape expiry issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

prashant185

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Hi Friends,

I am new in TSM, 4 weeks old. I am a Oracle DBA so understands the backups and sqls. I am having new responsibility to manage Tape backups and Tape rotation for library 3583.
Library can hold 60 tapes. We backup the filesystems files (windows and unix) and rman backup files on tapes. I have seen tape having all kind of backup pieces. Non db backup retention is 30 days.

Query 1 : There are tapes at offsite in vault state from last 3 months, but still library not asking to bring onsite. The LAST_WRITE_DATE value is very old on these tapes. What could be the reason library not asking these few tapes? is there way to force the library to expire the tapes with correct staging states. When i check the contents of these tapes, most of those are having filesystem backup pieces.

Query 2 : The tapes getting filled 100% still library not checking-out to send offsite for few days. why? is there way to force library to send the tape offsite as soon as it gets 100% full.

I am putting some required info .

TSM Server Version 5, Release 4, Level 0.0

STGPOOL_NAME__________ POOLTYPE DEVCLASS RECLAIM
---------------------- ------------------ ------------------ -------
CERN_DISK01_ARCH_SP PRIMARY DISK
CERN_DISK01_SP PRIMARY DISK
CERN_TAPE01_ARCH_CSP COPY CERN_TAPE01_DC 100
CERN_TAPE01_ARCH_SP PRIMARY CERN_TAPE01_DC 100
CERN_TAPE01_CSP COPY CERN_TAPE01_DC 100
CERN_TAPE01_SP PRIMARY CERN_TAPE01_DC 100

q drmstatus

Recovery Plan Prefix: /dr/tsm/drm/drmplan
Plan Instructions Prefix: /dr/tsm/drm/
Replacement Volume Postfix: @
Primary Storage Pools:
Copy Storage Pools:
Not Mountable Location Name: NOTMOUNTABLE
Courier Name: COURIER
Vault Site Name: VAULT
DB Backup Series Expiration Days: 4 Day(s)
Recovery Plan File Expiration Days: 30 Day(s)
Check Label?: Yes
Process FILE Device Type?: No
Command File Name:

All tapes can be used as scratch tapes once it is expire.