TSM on Linux or Windows

JarrodB

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Okay,

First I'm not trying to start any kind of flame wars here! We are a fairly small shop (about 50 servers or so) that has mostly Windows systems :rolleyes:. We do use VMWare heavily and have probably 75% of our servers running as VMs. From an OS comfort level, I'm fine with either Windows or Linux. My question is if there are any benifits / problems with running TSM on Linux - probably RHEL versus running it on Windows 2003. I know this is very very broad but I'm looking for a general feel from the community. I should also point out that I am fairly new to TSM. The last version I used was 4.1 about 7 years ago or so.

Thanks!

I spend much of my time implementing new TSM servers for our clients...a fairly even mix of Linux, Windows and AIX. In my opinion, there are a couple of main factors dictating the choice:
1. Size of the environment (both number of clients and the amount of data moved).
2. Comfort of the administrators with the OS that the TSM Server will be running on.
3. Availability of device drivers for the OS's you are considering.

You are correct...50 TSM clients is not a lot for either a Windows-based or Linux-based TSM Server...the other question here is how much data to be backed up nightly?

I think most would concur that on the same, adequately powered, server hardware, that Linux is a bit more efficient and powerful when it comes to moving data versus Windows.

That being said, I have a number of clients moving more than 1 TB of data nightly to a Windows based TSM Server.

You also have to watch for the available and supported drivers for Linux based systems...especially as it relates to SAN storage and tape libraries...just do your research in advance and you should be fine.

Regardless of OS, make sure you have enough processor, memory, Nics and HBAs in the TSM Server.

Zatogo,