TSM Not reclaiming tapes

Doug4711

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
First I'm Still a newbie here but...

We have tsm running with an IMB3573 tape library

For the nearly the last two weeks, our backup set has got larger

There are tapes in the set which are as low as 2.3% utilized infact about 10 tapes are utilized low enough to be reclaimed.

The reclaim is run every day against the pool and seemed to work fine until about last week some time.

I modified the maintenance script to bring the % down from 50% to 40%

reclaim stgpool LTO4POOL threshold=40 wait=yes
reclaim stgpool COPYPOOL threshold=40 wait=yes

But still nothing has been reclaimed and we are slowly running out of scratch tapes

Any ideas guys

hi,

you can check which volumes are eligible for reclamation with the following command

select volume_name, pct_reclaim, stgpool_name from volumes where pct_reclaim>=50 order by 3,2 asc

but most of all i'd never run reclamation under 60%.
If your volumes are eligible for reclamation but the process does not start, you should check why into the actlog, as tsm server would produce some errors and warnings about that.

cheers
max

That is a bit odd. Check your stgpool reclamation thresholds and make sure they are not set to 100. I've never actually ran a manual reclaim stgpool command before.

q stg lto4pool f=d
q stg copypool f=d

Look in the output for the following (my copypool1 looks like this):

Reclamation Threshold: 100

I would agree that I would never set my reclamation for my primary pool below 60 but that is definitely personal preference. As for your copypool storage, if you have the tapes to spare, up the reclamation threshhold. That will help you from moving so many tapes back and forth from your offsite facility. I periodically adjust my copypool1 reclamation to bring back tapes like so:

update stg copypool reclaim=90