TSM NDMP issue. Need Help!!

NehaK

Active Newcomer
Reaction score
Hello Experts,

I am configuring my windows 20008 R2 TSM server for NDMP configuration.
However, while defining the datamover, i recieve the following error:

ANR4728E Server connection to file server <IP address of NAS> failed. Please check
attributes of the file server specified during definition of the datamover.

Another thing that i observed was that as soon as i put an entry of NDMPCONTROL PORT 10000 in the options file, i cannot open the dsmadc CLI. it just blinks and goes away.

I also tried to set the port range in server options file (dsmserv.opt), but that din't help either.

Firewalls are off.

I am new to TSM and need to figure it out on the urgent basis due to deadlines. Could anyone please suggest any workarounds for the same.

Any help/suggestion is greatly appreciated.

Cheers!!!

ANR4728E Server connection to file server <IP address of NAS> failed. Please check
attributes of the file server specified during definition of the datamover.
As the error suggest, you likely have the wrong IP or port. HELP ANR4728E for more info.

Another thing that i observed was that as soon as i put an entry of NDMPCONTROL PORT 10000 in the options file, i cannot open the dsmadc CLI. it just blinks and goes away.
The fact that dsmadmc doesn't start is unrelated to the NDMPCONTROLPORT. Only the TCPADMINPORT can affect dsmadmc as far as communicating with the TSM Server. And if there was a problem with the port, you would get an error similar to this if it was for a failed connection:
ANS1033E An invalid TCP/IP address was specified.
ANS8041E The server connection has been lost and cannot be re-established.​

Since your dsmadmc just exits out, it's something else. Check the dsmerror.log for more info.

As the error suggest, you likely have the wrong IP or port. HELP ANR4728E for more info.