TSM Client problem (ANS1017E)

chris_magic

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a newbie on TSM. I use the version 5.4 of TSM on a Windows 2k3 server 32bit.
My clients are Windows 2k3 server 32&64 bit.
I have to deploy my clients everywhere and the clients are on different subnet and of this fact I use a firewall.

I have a problem for the clients communicating by the firewall.
On the firewall the port 1500, 1501 and 1581 are open from the server to the client. I'm able to make a telnet with this port from the server to the client.

You can see the dsm.opt file of my clients:

PASSWORDACCESS GENERATE
DOMAIN C:
DOMAIN SYSTEMSERVICES
DOMAIN SYSTEMSTATE
DOMAIN ALL-LOCAL
COMMmethod TCPip
TCPSERVERADDRESS 172.21.204.46
TCPPort 1500
TCPCLIENTADDRESS 172.21.208.14
TCPCLIENTPORT 1501
SCHEDMODE PROMPTED
TCPADMINPORT 1501
SESSIONINITIATION SERVERONLY
MANAGEDSERVICES WEBCLIENT SCHEDULE
REVOKEREMOTEACCESS ACCESS

I have a got a message of error indicating to me that they have a communication TCP/Ip failure and in the DSMError.log file I have got this:

05/16/2007 10:09:10 ANS5216E Could not establish a TCP/IP connection with address '172.21.204.46:1500'. The TCP/IP error is 'Unknown error' (errno = 10060).
05/16/2007 10:09:10 ANS4039E Could not establish a session with a TSM server or client agent. The TSM return code is -50.
05/16/2007 10:09:10 ANS1017E Session rejected: TCP/IP connection failure

I will need your assistance because I don't find the solution in spite of many tests.
I am at your disposal if you wish more precise information.

Christophe

Well first and foremost, can you ping (or traceroute) the TSM server from the TSM client?

Then depending on the rule in the firewall, I'd check the logs to see what is happening to traffic once it gets to the firewall. We have a similar issue but our rule is specific to server initiated. So schedules have to be set to prompted.