script for adding a new node

tsmuser10

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Website
Visit site
First of all not much of scripter......but I'm looking for a script or tips on creating a script for others to use to add a node. Would like it to maybe prompt for domain name/password. Again just looking for pointers

THX

Something like this for DOS:

@echo off

set /P node=Enter node name to register:
set /P pass=Enter password to set for node:
set /P domain=Enter Domain to register node:

dsmadmc /id=admin /pa=password "register node %node% %pass% do=%domain% passexp=0 maxnummp=4"

Last edited:
i've created such script for every domain

reg node $1 PASSWORD do=DOMAIN passexp=0 maxnummp=4
def assoc DOMAIN $2 $1

the run the script `run r_node NODENAME SCHEDULER_NAME`

I am new to scripting and automation in TSM, i am looking to automate the TSM decommission process so that it should prompt for node name to decommission and prompt to update the contact information.. any help is appreciated...
thanks in advance...

I am new to scripting and automation in TSM, i am looking to automate the TSM decommission process so that it should prompt for node name to decommission and prompt to update the contact information.. any help is appreciated...
thanks in advance...

Unix or DOS?

When you say 'decommission', do you delete the node and its backup? If you do this, why update the contact information?

The simplicity or complexity of the script depends on your answer to the questions above.

I am decommissioning the node which are registered in TSM and I am doing it from TSM end.. we maintain 90 days of client data after final backup of the server which is going to decommission.. we are updating the contact information with the incident/Ticket details so that we come to know who requested us to decommission the client..

Thank you...

You haven't mention if you want this to run on DOS or UNIX.

Reason: the script would most likely be ran outside of TSM