Recover data from ADSM / TSM without ADSM/TSM

Miadams

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Website
Visit site
Hi,

i am an absolute newbie regarding tsm and adsm but now i'm in deep sh*t ;)

At a customers site I have an IBM VisualInfo installation, probably using ADSM or TSM (Operating System is OS/2 so it should be ADSM I think)

Today the customer called and said his HD crashed. The computer cannot be booted or restored. Now I have a HP Surestore optical Jukebox and lots of MO disks but no clue how to restore the data. Is ADSM using some kind of structured filesystem or is it just writing file after file and saving the pointers in the DB (that would be soooooo~~~ bad ;))

as you can probably imagine, no one ever cared about data security because an external company always did some maintenance, but now that company is bankrupt and, as always, nobody knows anything about the system :sad:)

Again, my question: is there any way to recover the data from the MO media (HP MO Jukebox maybe with IBM firmware and MO drives from HP / IBM (Sony SMO****))

Thank you very much in advance

Michael

Michael,

My friend, TSM......is just writing file after file and saving the pointers in the DB .

This sounds like a strange system though from the point of view of recovery (but I guess you're way ahead on that realization). Normally you would expect the database to be regularly written off to tape and potentially taken away. I guess it could be getting written to your optical library....? If it is TSM/ADSM and there are no database backups, you are pretty much done.

Having said all of this, are you sure that it wasn't simply using the OS/2's built in backup utility? Given that this is OS/2 perhaps it isn't surprising, but this would be a very old, very out of support installation of ADSM (v2?). I've no idea where you would download the code from.