New to TDP

Raakin

ADSM.ORG Senior Member
Reaction score
I am about to show my ignorance on this subject.
I am new to TDP for Oracle. I have downloaded the Red book and currenlty reading and rereading it.

In some discusion with the Oracle DBA and as I was explaing how the TDP makes use of RMAN and he asked if it was possible to have TSM backup Oracle while the database is online without using RMAN. Is this a possibility?

Are there other options to backup Oracle with TSM (I assume if the database needs to remain online TDP is the only option)?
What are the pros and cons of other methods?

Details:
TSM Server 5.4.x.x
TSM Client 5.5.2
TDP for Oracle 5.2 (Link to TDP)
Oracle database bits size 64

The AIX Admin has installed the TDP for Oracle as well.

Yes, it *is* possible to do it without TDP and RMAN but it takes a good amount of scripting and a good DBA. Not recommended but we backup a few hundred Oracle DBs online without TDPO every day.

-Aaron

takes a good amount of scripting and a good DBA.

Aaron, our DBA is amazing. I would like to further explore this option. Is there any documentation you can lead me to? I would like to see what it takes and then allow my DBA to make the call.

I know of no documentation except what a DBA would find by Oracle themselves but they need to script the process of gathering the list of all the tables, what files are in each table and then for each table: update the table to be in backup mode, backup the files for that table and once done with the backup update the table to no longer be in backup mode all while checking for errors. The DB must be in archive-log mode and once the backup is done, you have to backup all the arch-logs.

You also need to know how to recover from a database that was backed up online with archlogs.

Like I said, it is possible but *highly* not recommended for someone that doesn't know how it works.

-Aaron