Large number of volumes marked unavailable - what keeps overwriting volume labels?

kolstet

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Website
Visit site
Please forgive me if this has been posted before. I'm fairly new to TSM and need some help.

"I'm sorry this letter is so long, but I did not have time to make it shorter." --Mark Twain

Here's our setup:

<UL>

<LI>Single TSM server

<LI>TSM 5.2 on IBM 346 and Red Hat AS 3.0

<LI>Dual SCSI (Adaptec AHA-3960D / AIC-7899A U160/m) card

<LI>SCSI-attached ADIC Scalar 100 Library with 3 LTO2 drives

<LI>Two drives on one SCSI chain, changer and other drive on other SCSI chain

[/list]

Over the past couple of months I've been getting a lot of volumes marked as unavailable. The tape will mount and then receive an ANR8355E (I/O error reading label for volume XXXX). Going back through the activity log, it seems that the previous use of the tape was successful, but the label keeps either being corrupted or misread.

I haven't matched this up with a specific drive, SCSI chain, or set of tapes. Every time this problem occurs, I recall the corresponding COPYPOOL tapes and restore the volume, eject the tape and delete it, then relabel the tape and check it back in as scratch, but the error keeps coming up on different tapes. Attempts to audit the volume or remark the tape as READWRITE fail because the volume label can't be read.

I'm assuming that something is corrupting my volume labels. The tape paths are set to /dev/IBMtapeX (raw device) and not /dev/IBMtapeXn (no-rewind device). Is it possible that the tape is being rewound when it shouldn't be and overwriting the volume label?

I don't want to call vendors in on this until I can narrow the problem down to a particular subsystem. If I call ADIC in to do a diagnostic, for example, they may charge me for the visit if they find out the problem is elsewhere.