Large number of files

Mita201

ADSM.ORG Senior Member
Reaction score
I am facing a common problem with large number of files, but I am not very experienced with the solutions to it:

I have jfs2 filesystem that, at the moment has about 7mil relatively small files (up to few hundreds kbs each) there is about 20 000 - 50 000 new files generated daily at the moment which will slowly decrease in next year or two to the level of about 5 000 files daily. I have journal that works, it goes to disk pool, I did a bit of txngroup optimization, but still it takes about 18 hours for incremental backup. I am expecting to have about 400mil files in that fs once, and maybe more. Is there any kind of optimization I can count on, or I should think about solving the issue on some other way?

If they are small files, you might want to look into making an image of the filespace.

One image is one pointer object in the TSM database, instead of millions of pointers... thus keeping your TSM database smaller.

Be aware that you cannot restore one file from the image. You would have to restore the whole image. But if They are small files, it might be work for your situation.

Well, it is one possible solution, but files are not that small, as I said some of them are several hundreds of kilobytes, so I think that filesystem will go to terabytes soon, and taking backup of TB image is still lot of hours.