I'm Removing 48 tapes (Primary Pool) from Tape Library. Do i have to run 48 times?

JohnnyB04

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Hi Yall.
Just came across this site and such good information. I've been doing TSM for about 3 months now, and learning everyday, enjoying it and wish I had found this site sooner.

I need to remove 50 tapes from 'primary pool' out of my tape library. These tapes will reside on premises, but they are full, are not be written to again, and need to be removed.
My plan is to run the following:

CHECKOut LIBVolume SSA <volume_name> REMove=YES

I believe this is the best way to remove the tapes, however will I have to do this 50 times? My tape library only has 1 AccessDoor/Ejection slot. With this command I would have to run it 50 times and then go to the tape library 50 times.

Is there a way that I can checkout, but just leave the tapes in their current slot, and then from the tape library do a bulk unload?

Thanks;
JB4

Hi Yall.
Just came across this site and such good information. I've been doing TSM for about 3 months now, and learning everyday, enjoying it and wish I had found this site sooner.

I need to remove 50 tapes from 'primary pool' out of my tape library. These tapes will reside on premises, but they are full, are not be written to again, and need to be removed.
My plan is to run the following:

CHECKOut LIBVolume SSA <volume_name> REMove=YES

I believe this is the best way to remove the tapes, however will I have to do this 50 times? My tape library only has 1 AccessDoor/Ejection slot. With this command I would have to run it 50 times and then go to the tape library 50 times.

Is there a way that I can checkout, but just leave the tapes in their current slot, and then from the tape library do a bulk unload?

Thanks;
JB4

CHECKOut LIBVolume SSA <volume_name> REMove=NO