How do I get rid of an old Copypool

qwwwizx

Newcomer
Reaction score
Hi there,

I have been using TSM over the last 5 years, or so. Typically the TSM is just running 24/7 with no interrupts, so I am not an expert:cool:.

At the moment I am investigating how to get rid of an old copypool. The problem is that the copypool contains like 2.100 volumes. When I try to delete the copypool in the console, the message is that it contains volumens. I can delete volumes, but only on at the time which is a no-go:down:.

Are there any console commands that will let me delete all the volumes in just one string ... like "delete * from copypool;" just in TSM syntax:up:?

My TSM server runs on Windows XP:confused:, and its updated to TSM 5.4.

Hi there,

I have been using TSM over the last 5 years, or so. Typically the TSM is just running 24/7 with no interrupts, so I am not an expert:cool:.

At the moment I am investigating how to get rid of an old copypool. The problem is that the copypool contains like 2.100 volumes. When I try to delete the copypool in the console, the message is that it contains volumens. I can delete volumes, but only on at the time which is a no-go:down:.

Are there any console commands that will let me delete all the volumes in just one string ... like "delete * from copypool;" just in TSM syntax:up:?

My TSM server runs on Windows XP:confused:, and its updated to TSM 5.4.

Sorry, you have to delete the volumes one after the other. See "help delete volume" for details. use the parameter " .... discarddata=yes" to delete forcibly the data on the volumes (tapes).

Last edited:
Is that really 2100 volumes... crickey...

You'll have to try and get a list of the volumes in a txt file and then write a bat file to automate the process.... alas my windows skills arn't good enough to write such a bat file for you. Be aware, deleting that many volumes could put quite a load on the tsm server whilst it runs..

Cheers

OMG.

Not the answer I was hoping for!