Force schedule to start

bcetin

Active Newcomer
Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm not very experienced with TSM so please correct me for any mistakes. I'm developing a script to re-schedule the clients that failed during nightly backup to start immediately every morning. The script will run each morning and do this:

1- Check for failed backups yesterday:
"q ev * * begindate=today-1 exc=YES enddate=today f=d"

2- My script parses the output and get the node_name, domain_name, status (failed, missed, success.. etc) and whatever values necessary, then put them in variables.

3- Script constructs a re-schedule command for "failed" and "missed" backups and executes it on TSM Server:
"define schedule (domainname) (random created unique schedule name)ACTION=INCREMENTAL PRIORITY=5 STARTDATE=(today) STARTTIME=(2 minutes after the script run time) DURATION=1 DURUNITS=HOURS PERIOD=1 PERUNITS=ONETIME DAYOFWEEK=ANY EXPIRATION=(today)"

4- Script constructs an association command for missed and failed nodes, executes it on TSM Server.
"define association (domain_name)(unique schedule name from step 3)(node_name)

Now all is fine, my script correctly does all of the above, creates the schedules and associates them with nodes. As you can see, the schedule is set to start after 2 minutes and with a duration of 1 hour. However, some of my nodes does not start the schedule because of the schedule refresh time. When I look with dsmcad on these nodes, they list the schedule fine but the schedule does not appear in the dsmsched.log file until I restart the client service. Then my schedule is written to the log file and starts in a 1 hour time. On the other nodes, the reason that the schedule starts is that by chance, the schedule refresh time is just after the script run time.