Exchange Backup on TSM??

bc_2000

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm quite new to TSM and have had to pick it up on a 'hands on' basis, but I'd really like some advice on our setup...!

We had a consultancy come in and review our requirements, based on this they setup and installed TSM 5.1.5.4 with a IBM 3538 LTO library. (3 x drives, 39 slots - 100GB/200GB Tapes)

They have then setup TSM to backup our Exchange 5.5 server on a nightly basis, every night of the week with a 30-day retention (as our security policy requires.) and Our 2 Novell Servers which are small file servers.

The problem is the Exchange information store is 137GB. TSM backs up changed files, and the ISDIR is changed everyday!!

This has given us a problem due to Tivoli's 'intelligence' with space reclaimation and expiry..

Our library is forever working!!.... If its not backing up the Information Store, its moving it. If its not moving it, its reclaiming space...and eating tapes like Smarties!!

We cannot stop any active processes as it finishes the file its working on...and thats 137GB.

The library is constantly full due to the 39 slots, 30 day retention - 1 day per tape!

I can't help but think this 'consultancy' have not sold us the ideal solution for our requirement.

TSM works fine on typical 'Files'. It backs up quickly, efficently stores the files, holds 3 active copies....fine! but the ISDIR worked sooooo much better on a rotation based backup on Arcserve.

Does anyone else have the same setup, or any advice???

Thanks, I hope the above makes sense!

BC_2K :confused:

Hey,

With a 140G Exchange backed up daily and saved for 30 days, how can you not expect your 39 slot library to be full ?

From what I managed to understand from your mail:

A) Start using a TDP and not backing up exchange as a files

B) (Once A is done) You should have Exchange backup directly to a _tape_ storage

pool. Thus you will have no 'data moving'.