Backup and Restore of SQL Express

wwillsey

Active Newcomer
Reaction score
I'm testing a baremetal recovery of my WSUS server. I'm using SQL Express for the DB. When a backup is initiated from the TSM server files in the C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL.1\MSSQL\Data fo9lder are not all backed up. Only mssqlsystemresource.mdf, mssqlsystemresource.ldf, tempdb.mdf and templog.ldf are backedup. There is no exclude in the dsm.opt file and the files are not reported as skipped in the dsmerror.log or the TSM reports.
If I initiate the backup from the client, the files are backedup.

Any thoughts? I'm new to TSM and I don't administer the TSM server.

Thanks,
Warren

use dsmc query inclexcl for excluded files and folders and check the mssql\data folder is listed in there

I ran the query and it returns excludes for the files I'm trying to backup. These excludes are not in the dsm.opt file and I have no reference to a text file using the inclexcl option in the dsm.opt file. Where are the additional excludes comming from?

hi,
please check into the Client GUI (Edit - Preferences - Include-Exclude). You might have excluded the folders in there.

cheers
max

That appears to be a GUI edit of the dsm.opt file.
Is it possible that TSM requires an SQL license to backup SQL Express?

i'm not sure i see what you mean ...

you do not need any sql license should you backup "flat-file".
cheers
max

That appears to be a GUI edit of the dsm.opt file.
Is it possible that TSM requires an SQL license to backup SQL Express?

You need a .LIC file for SQL if you are running TDP for SQL.

Another way of backing up your database is by backing up database dump files which is a very common practice.