ANR8779E Unable to open drive TAPE0, error number=2

gavsta

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Website
Visit site
Hi,

this is my first post to the forum and i'm also pretty new to using the TSM system.

We recently had a new tsm system installed with an 3583 library fitted with 2 tape drives.

Everything has been running fine for about 2 months and now this week for some reason the server will not access the drives.

From the TSM command line I can update the drive status so it shows them as being online but when i query the path or try to update the path to bring the both the tape drives online i get the following error messages:

<TABLE BORDER=0 ALIGN=CENTER WIDTH=85%><TR><TD><font class="pn-sub">Quote:</font><HR></TD></TR><TR><TD><FONT class="pn-sub"><BLOCKQUOTE> 01/07/2005 10:18:34 ANR2017I Administrator GABARBE issued command: UPDATE PATH

osiuk030 tape0 srct=server destt=drive libr=ltolib

devi=tape0 online=yes (SESSION: 2613)

01/07/2005 10:18:34 ANR8779E Unable to open drive TAPE0, error number=2.

(SESSION: 2613)

01/07/2005 10:18:34 ANR8420E UPDATE PATH: An I/O error occurred while

accessing drive TAPE0. (SESSION: 2613) </BLOCKQUOTE></FONT></TD></TR><TR><TD><HR></TD></TR></TABLE>

I have checked the library and it shows both drives as being online and available.

I'm really at a loss as to how to solve this and any help is appreciated.

I have read on other threads there is an issue with the firmware version on the drives if they are 4722 and not 38d0. I am reluctant to change the drive firmware as it is the version they shipped from IBM to us with.

Many Thanks,

Gav.

Hi!

You don't say what os you are running I will asume windows.

My first step would be to check if the tape drive

has changed name, this can happen if you reboot the

server (windows). This can also happen with unix ;)

do a q path f=d and check the output aginst the information in

the setup wizard.

from the command line you can issue the command tsmdlst.exe to list