Add LTO4 drive support in TSM 5.4

Sapfeer

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Hi,

We have Solaris 10 with TSM 5.4 and IBM TS3500 L3584 library with LTO4 drives. I added drives to TSM normally, but I wasn't able to write with them. I can't provide exact output, but I suppose it is because of TSM 5.4 doesn't support LTO4 drive... The type of this drives was stated to GENERICTAPE. Also I can't find the list of supported drive types for TSM 5.4 - link from Administration Guide refer to nowhere... I know that this support was added in version 5.5 and it can be added by installing some fix packs. I'm new to installing TSM fix packs and I want to get some guides and tips how to perform installation. I didn't found something interesting even in Software Support Handbook... Any advices appreciated!

Thanks in advance

Last edited:
Hello,
what drives (model) do you have?

I'm not sure... Next time I collect such information...

Seems most IBM LTO4 drives are supported on SUN since 5.4.1 (except Half Height - it is from 5.5.2 but I do not think these may be added to 3584)

I suppose we have TSM 5.4.0...

How did you get this link? Before this moment, I thought that can find at IBM site all I need, but know it is time to think over... But even if I have It, it's not helpfull - when I select LTO Tape Drive I receive 400 Bad Request message...

Do you use IBM device driver?

Also, since the system we're talking about is not mine, I mean i didn't configure it - I just maintain it at that moment, I can provide you with full information next time

Thanks a lot for help!..

Hi,
There is direct link to it from main TSM support page

Thank you very much! Next time I will be more attentive :)

I forgot - I knew this page very long time ago... Even I have offline version. I become very forgetful... $)

I'm looking at this thread and am not following. I run TSM server 5.4.3.0 on Solaris 10, with all LTO3 drives, so I use "format=DRIVE" on the device class.

But the Admin Guide says this...