Unable to checkin the DBbackup tape for the next use

arunbabup

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Dear all,

I am very new to TSM domain.. Feel very pleasure to meet u all here...

I have taken a dbbackup (400MB appx) to a scratch volume. After 15 days of usage i want to reuse the tape again for the dbbackup. But am unable to checkin the tape into the library. Please suggest me what are the probable errors.

1. Volume problem or
2. Hardware problem (Library)

Kindly let me know what is the solution

DB Backups won't expire on their own, you need to have something like this command running during your housekeeping:

del volh t=dbb tod=-15

That removes the reference to any tapes marked as being 'dbb' (Database Backup) that are older than 15 days.

Once that is done you can then check the tape in as scratch.

-Chris

thanks Chris.....

I will do the same and let u know the result...
thanks alot for the reply

DB Backups won't expire on their own, you need to have something like this command running during your housekeeping:

del volh t=dbb tod=-15

That removes the reference to any tapes marked as being 'dbb' (Database Backup) that are older than 15 days.

Once that is done you can then check the tape in as scratch.

-Chris

Just another point - if you're using DRM and moving dbb's offsite then don't run the del volhist. DRM will handle this for you.

-Chris

Need one more help..

Just another point - if you're using DRM and moving dbb's offsite then don't run the del volhist. DRM will handle this for you.

-Chris

Dear Chris,
I have executed the command u suggested "del Volhist" , TSM have deleted 2 volumes from the volhist. But am unable to understand which volumes have been deleted. Please let me know how to trace the deleted volumes..
If they are deleted from the Volhist , will they still stay inside the library ?? If yes how should i checkout them.... please let me know..

Many thanks for the help in advance.....