TOC sizing no info

KennyMartin

Newcomer
Reaction score
Hey all, I've been tasked with setting up NDMP with TSM server 5.5.1.1, I'm not a dedicated TSM administrator as I'm mainly a system Admin come jack of all trades, so be gentle.

I have been somewhat confused about Table of Contents (TOC) sizing, there is no information on any specific formulas for TOC sizing in any of the TSM documentation and also read various accounts on TOC sizes on the web.

One account is where Admin says he has backed up 2 Terrabytes of data and as a TOC of 50Gbyte and another admin saying they have 1 Terrabyte and a TOC size of 5Gbyte.

So to all you gurus that have experience on TOC, what are the rules on estimating the size of your TOC.

Also I'm told by those above me that the Data that will be backedup via NDMP TSM will have to be retained for 7years for legal reasons, is NDMP backups with TOC a suitable method.

All comments welcome good and bad.

Aware that TSM 6.1 currently doesn't support TOC.

Since the TOC is, well a table of contents on the volume, it's size is dependant on number of files/dirs on that volume not the volume's size. So yes, you could have a 2TB volume with millions of files that produces a 50GB TOC, or a 1TB volume with thousands of files producing a 5GB TOC. Your TOC will be larger on full backups then it will on differentials because the diffs won't backup all of the files.

When setting up ours, it was basically a trial and error type situation. We ran test backups and watched to see how much impact the TOCs had on TSM DB. We ended up needing to allocate more space to the TSM DB to handle the large TOCs we were generating.