Quick Help needed! BA client on Sun Solaris Cache FS

masterzzz

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Website
Visit site
Does anyone know if I can install TSM BA client on a Sun Solaris server with Cache FS filesystem? Do I install BA client like normal? Thanks

I believe it will work but you might have to make it as a virtual mount point for TSM to actually attempt to back it up since it is similar to an NFS mount. Not positive on that but when I ran up against the ReiserFS before it was supported we could back it up but only as a virtual mount point.

Thanks first of all.

So you are saying I have to create a few soft links (symbolic links) for the directories/files that I want to back up after I install BA Client?

Since I have LIMITED knowledge on Sun/Unix/Linux, it will be my first time to do it in production, although I installed BA client(linux) successfully on my laptop. BTY, I have no idea about Cache FS :sad:

So it would be nice if you can expand on Cache FS issue.

Here is what I found via one of the search links. It explains what CacheFS is

http://lwn.net/Articles/100330/

I see CacheFS and TSM working together on a temporary basis, on selected TSM Clients. But at the same time, there must be a common point of entry on a permanent server or a SAN LUN or volume group which permanently contains the data for the clients to gain access and utilize. This is where I would concentrate my TSM backups against.

Virtual mount points is a good option, but you are also going to have to consider or at least anticipate the amount of errors the activity log may generate if the include/exclude or cloptsets are scanning for the "mounted" filesystem and they cannot be found because they were not mounted or unmounted during a TSM session.

I see presched command here, looking for these mount points, continue if present, skip otherwise.