Proper TSM use

Sporti69

Active Newcomer
Reaction score
Website
www.ibm.com
Hi all,
I am still new to this big backup world of TSM and am a bit confused on how I should properly implement my backup requirements.

- daily backup (able to rollback 14 days)
- monthly backup (able to rollback 2 months)
- quarterly backup (able to rollback 2 quarters)

So I start to create a domain "daily" with a policy, mgmt class, copy group.
Then I create a schedule based upon that domain to run daily, at night
Register a node with the domain and schedule, and I start testing...

- Ok, it works, but not completely. TSM will not hold backups for a number of days, but a number of versions, right? Can live with this.
- How do I automate the other 2 backup requirements of the same node ? (monthly and quarterly).
-Do I use different options files on the same client?
-Am I able to use multiple copygroups,
-do I need different schedulers,
-can I copy backups already taken by the daily backup and use them -once a month/quarter in stead of all of the above
or am I now asking questions that are not valid with TSM logics?

Help me to see the light please.

Best Regards
Tom

Your mindset is akin to other backup strategies.

In TSM you work with versions and retention periods.

Something like:

This number of versions: 6
Number of days to keep inactive versions: 180

For backup files that a user has deleted from the client node:
Number of versions to keep: 2

Amount of time to keep the last file version
This number of days: 180

Generally, you don't do weekly, monthly, or yearly. You do Backup and/or Archive.

Read "The Tivoli Storage Manager" section found here: http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/ieduasst/tivv1r0/index.jsp?

Ok that is quite clear now. You post confirmed what I came to realize these days.
So now I can rephrase my question in more TSMish ^^

Scenario:
I do a daily scheduled backup of a node
Keep maximun 14 versions that expire after 14 days