oracle -- separate storage pool ?

td3201

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
I am new to TSM. I inherited a 5.3 TSM with an Oracle DB. I have a primary tape pool called LTOPOOL1 where all the 'other backups' go and another called ORACLE_TAPE where the oracle rman backups go. Is there any reason to have a separate storage pool like this? They have different management classes and policy domains and such, but why cant they all be stored in teh same volumes? They end up in the same copy pool anyways.

There's no crushing reason why you should go either way, but what you have is reasonably common practice. It can be advantageous in that your tape utilization can be improved, and the amount of reclamation reduced. It may also improve restore times, depending on your environment.

Generally by storing big DB backups in your oracle_tape pool, almost all of these will expire after a certain period and the tape will rapidly drop to a low utilization to be reclaimed ... and the reclamation will be reasonably fast because there's not many small files to skip over which is the slowest part of reclamation.

Whereas the tapes in your other pool will probably have lots of small files that are still active - these will have to be read and moved by reclamation, and all the expired small files on the tape skipped over. These tapes probably won't have to be reclaimed as often under your current system because they don't have big DB backups filling them up and then expiring quickly afterwards.

There's no crushing reason why you should go either way, but what you have is reasonably common practice. It can be advantageous in that your tape utilization can be improved, and the amount of reclamation reduced. It may also improve restore times, depending on your environment.