missing tapes with in TSM or 3584 Library

TOSTIVOLIADMIN

Newcomer
Reaction score
Website
Visit site
Help!!!

I am new to TSM and was wondering why periodically we seem to be missing tapes with in Tivoli...Recently I had the TSM administrator review things and noticed thag we are missing about 27 tapes...Basically he ran a report or printed out disaster recovery info that states what tapes Tivoli sees...then he compared that info to the report he received when running the command to show how many scratch tapes are available...from the research and comparisons we noticed that Tivoli does not know about those tapes...It appears they are missing within the library or stored offsite...But either way Tivoli should know about these tapes...Any ideas? Please help

Thanks

:confused:

TSM is like a washing machine when washing socks, it looses track of some socks

during the wash cycle. So with TSM you will need to run a daily audit of the library

so TSM finds the missing scratch tapes.

If possible use the 'checklabel=barcode' option, this speeds things up by telling

the library to scan the barcodes on the tapes rather then mount them into the

drive.

Command (via TSM's Server CLI):

audit library <lib name> checklabel=barcode

(e.g. audit library 123lib checklabel=barcode)

After a successful audit is completed, check your scratch tapes.

What once was lost, now is found.

Our library also does this. it is very annoying, as the tape reclamation stops over the weekend as it looses all of the scratch tapes.

when i audited the library this morning (after halting the server to cancle the jobs) it found 15 tapes

we are running 5.1.8.4

Is there a newer version that fixed this problem ?