Is an HP J5000 workstation sufficient for a TSM 5.1.5 Server?

pbanghart

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Website
Visit site
I have an HP J5000 workstation running HP-UX 11.00 that I would like to turn into a TSM 5.1.5 Server (it's for a relatively small environment). The TSM HP-UX Quickstart Guide indicates a TSM Server on HP-UX must use "an HP 9000 or later machine...".

Is the J5000 considered an HP 9000 class machine? Can anyone tell me if this machine will work as a TSM v5.1.5 Server, assuming it has sufficient memory, disk, etc.?

Thanks!!! -PB

While I cannot speak to HP hardware guidelines, because I am an IBM RS/6000 Admin. However, here are some general thoughts to keep in mind when picking a TSM Server.

IMHO, in order of importance:

1) Evaluate your Environment -- The TSM server runs on lots of boxes, but you need to weigh the risks/benefits of putting a TSM server on any given box. These are many factors to consider. These include I/O volume, growth, and expandability. So, ask your self, beyond the simple will it run: yes or no. What kind of other factors am I going to face 3 monthes or a year from know and will this box still be the right choice.

2) TSM is quite I/O intensive -- You want to pick a hardware platform which is capable of moving lots of I/O's at a decent rate. Otherwise, you could be waiting a LONG time for some operations to complete.

3) Expansion slots/Expandability --- TSM is one of those platforms which become a central infrastructure item in a corporation. This usaully means you will get more requests to put more clients on it ( it may turn out to be more than you could of possiblty imagined (usaully due to pent up demand)). If your limited in your expansion/expandability your going to do lots of migraton practice ( or DR simulations) to get to a suitable sized server.