How to send the TSM database and log backups and DRM plan backup files to offsite?

hwang

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Website
Visit site
Hi. I'm very new to TSM and DRM. I've been reading the Admin Guide on Disaster Recovery with DRM. It talks about backing up TSM databases with full and incrementale backups, and generate the DRM recovery plan file.

We plan to use a Dell PV132T LTO tape library. So I have a devclass LTO2TAPE. The regular backup and archive (mainly archive) data will goto a PRIMPOOL storage pool that is associated with devclass LTo2TAPE. And I have a COPYPOOL that is a copy pool for PRIMPOOL as a backup of the storage pool. And tapes from COPYPOOL will be shipped to offsite daily or weekly.

I'd like to put the TSM database backup and DRM plan file onto the tapes for the COPYPOOL so that it can be shipped offsite along with other data. Since the data in PRIMPOOL are essentially archive data and should never expire, I think it is good enough to put the TSM database backup and the DRM plan file on the tapes for COPYPOOL.

Two questions:

1. How can you put the TSM database backup onto COPYPOOL only?

2. Can I really recover with the DRM plan file on tapes? This may sound stupid. But if so, how can you get to the DRM plan file if it only on tape?

Thanks in advance.

hwang

hwang,

If youare using a Unix TSM server, just do a mksysb or ufsdump to tape after you have created the DRM plan file.

My setup has the TSM binaries and config files on the root filesystem. I do a mksysb on my AIX TSM servers and ufsdump on my Solaris TSM servers. Recovery of the mksysb is very well documented and recovery of the ufsdump is as simple asdumping to a second disk, making any necessary config changes needed by the recovery hardware and booting to the second disk.

The DRM plan files can be easily expanded by adding the following to the "planexpl.awk" script:

"#!/usr/bin/nawk -f "

This line MUST be the first line in the script.