How to see total GB backed up and pipe it to a text file.

TSMJay

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Website
Visit site
Hi all,

I am currently trying to justify to my company why I need more LTO drives to make operations a bit smoother.

I found the following SQL query command to give me the total GB backed up in the last 24 hours.

select sum(cast(bytes/1024/1024/1024 as decimal(6,2))) TGBU from summary where start_time>=current_timestamp - 24 hours and activity='BACKUP'

I am not very good with SQL so be nice.

Question is how can I pipe this to a text file or CSV file so I can plot it on a graph?

I use the TSM Operational Reporting utility for this (and other) reasons. The default options in the custom summary section should show you what you want, but if you need to get more specific look at the node activity summary and even more detailed is the Backup Archive Client Backup Summary.

I installed the tool on a server that is running IIS, and set a schedule to run the report every day at 8:00AM and then send the report to the web page. When you set up the report, there is an option at the bottom that asks how many web revisions you want to keep of the report. I keep 30 days right now, but may be changing that to keep the max of 99 (so I can see trends over a 3 month time period.)

When you want to put things in a CSV, I've found the best way for me is to use dsmadmc in "comma" mode.

from the command line...

dsmadmc -comma -id=youradminid -pass=yourpassword select a bunch of stuff > somefile

Then, open the file in Excell and go to town.

Curtis

I use the following...

select cast(sum(bytes)/1024/1024/1024 as decimal(10,2)) as GB from -

summary where activity='BACKUP' and start_time >= (current_timestamp - 24 hours )