How add another istance (backup node) on a linux RadHat client?

nnsense

Active Newcomer
Reaction score
Hi all
I'm a newbie of tsm, and (to get things worst) of tsm on linux.
I'm founding some trouble trying to add another backup node on a RedHat box.
Sorry if i'm not using the right terms, ask if i'm not clear.
What we have is a client, standard, configured to backup a directory every three days.
What we need to achieve is to add another nodename, with a different configuration (Incremental, every day).

I've tryed a deep google research, but i've found a lot of pieces of the puzzle, and.. because of mu knowledge about tsm, i can't rebuild how do it.

Please, does anybody have something like a point-point solution.. for dummies? :):)

Sorry, I didn't mentioned, server is Version 5, Release 4, Level 0.0 on Windows 2003 Server

What you need to do is either setup a scheduler or cmd file that runs the following:

export DSM_CONFIG=/opt/tivoli/tsm/client/ba/bin/dsm.node2.opt

Then create that opt file that references a different SERVERNAME stanza in the dsm.sys.

<--dsm.node2.opt-->
SERVERNAME NODE2

Edit the dsm.sys file
<---dsm.sys--->
SERVERNAME NODE1
COMMMETHOD TCPIP
NODENAME NODE1

SERVERNAME NODE2
COMMMETHOD TCPIP
NODENAME NODE2

Make sure you have registered the second node, then you can access this secondary node through multiple options:

dsmc -opfile=/opt/tivoli/tsm/client/ba/bin/dsm.node2.opt

or

dsmc -servern=NODE2

Or if you export the DSM_CONFIG value like above then the environment will be set to login as NODE2.

Now you can make a decision to either run a secondary scheduler or have the scheduler for NODE1 run a shell script that runs the backup as NODE2. Either works, I have done both and it is a personal preference on how you decide to execute it.

Errr.. you mean that i have to execute the command
export DSM_CONFIG=/opt/tivoli/tsm/client/ba/bin/dsm.node2.opt
on the RedHat (client) linux shell?

and..
<--dsm.node2.opt-->