DRMEDIA Offsite Question

jasondrummond

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Website
www.amyan.net
Hi,

I have inherited an existing TSM install and as I am a newbie I am slightly wary of making any changes to procedures so I wonder if I could pick some of you guys brains with a couple of queries:

1. Currently there is a 'schedule' for a 5 week rotation of tapes. Every 5 weeks a certain tape is checked in to each of the libraries (6 libraries in various sites) and that tape theoretically should be used for the CopyStgPool backup. However sometimes different tapes are used and sometimes more than one. After reading the chapter on Using the Disaster Recovery Manager from the Admin guide here is my understanding.

We should not be trying to match a perticular tape to a particular weekly backup instead I have scripted a query using q drmedia which tells me what tapes were used at the weekend backup and I should then send them offsite. Additionally if I script a query q drmedia wherestate=vaultretrieve it would tell me what tapes I should be requesting returned on site. In short TSM will manage what tapes should be off or onsite so we don't need a schedule of use tape BarcodeXXX on Week1 tape BarcodeYYY on Week2. Is this correct?

2. When tapes which are status=vaultretrieve are being moved back on site some are automatically set to SCRATCH while others are set to PRIVATE. I take it if both tapes are blank then the one set to PRIVATE would be changed to SCRATCH after reclamation is run?

3. Last but not least. When I have started looking in the Tapel Libraries IBM 4560SLX I have noticed that there are some tapes physically in the library that should either be offsite or TSM doesn't know about (don't know why they have been left in the library). Is the only way to look for tapes AUDIT LIBRARY?

Sorry for the long posting.

Thanks

Jason

Jason, Here is my two cents: