CHECKIN LIBVOLUME required within 50 minutes.

learner123

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to TSM and ran into some problem. I wish someone could give me some guidance.

While my backup was running, TSM finished using the first tape and was going to use a next available media but it somehow decided to pick a media that is not inside the library.

ANR8352I Requests outstanding:
ANR8308I 013: LTO volume L100001 is required for use in library LTOLIBR1;
CHECKIN LIBVOLUME required within 50 minutes.

My questions are:

1. Why did it decide to pick this particular tape, although it's not inside the library? I ran "audit library" before running this backup session, and "q libv" shows the accurate list, which does not include this particular tape.

2. How could I prevent TSM from picking up a tape that is not inside the library for the future?

2. Where or how could I change the timeout value so that I'd like to let it give up within 5 minutes instead of 50 minutes and to let it pick a next available media (hopefully) that is inside the library.

Thanks in advance!

- Steve

on your library manager, you do " query reply" and after reply number to take the tape.

when you do a backup, tsm need a scratch tape.

If the tape not appear, you have more solution:
1-this tape is offsite
2-this tape is in the robot don't check for tsmtapelibrary, if is this you do checkin libv library_name search=yes checklabel=barcode status=scratch

Last edited:
update your device class definitions for mount wait time (50 to 5),
update your volume status to offsite if you check it out and don't want to tsm calls that tapes back again... it decides to call these tapes back to library because it's still in use (filling) and media access status is readwrite...

update your device class definitions for mount wait time (50 to 5),