Creating a second datacenter and datamover nodes

skarr24

Newcomer
Reaction score
Hi

i am relatively new to tsm and would like to know how the process of adding a new datacenter node as well as a new datamover node works.

Hi

i am relatively new to tsm and would like to know how the process of adding a new datacenter node as well as a new datamover node works.

By saying "new data center node", I presume you are referring to a new TSM (server) instance. There are many data movers - NDMP, VM, etc. Which one?

Search the IBM website for guidance on the exact environment you want to create.

Communication between the two data centers will be via server-to-server wherein the primary site can transfer data to the secondary site effectively making the secondary site an extension. Setting this up is under any TSM Adminisrator guide.

So if i'm correct then i won't be able to set up 2 datacenters on a single server, i am trying to configure daily incremental backups as well as monthly backups, i have found some help eluding to the fact that i would have to create a new datamover node as well as a new datacenter node.

So if i'm correct then i won't be able to set up 2 datacenters on a single server, i am trying to configure daily incremental backups as well as monthly backups, i have found some help eluding to the fact that i would have to create a new datamover node as well as a new datacenter node.