Various Questions concerning TSM and Tape Library

Manaburner

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm pretty new in using TSM with a tape library and while using it there came up a few questions for which I hope you can help me.

1. How can I tell, which backup is on which tape(s)?

2. It is planned that tape media goes offsite e.g. into a bank vault. Can I use the checkout libvol command for that purpose or is there another command for that? Backupsets are not possible in our situation because there is no storage pool with the devclass file.

3. Currently we have 20 LTO4 tapes in the library and we want to "reserve" 4 tapes for the TSM DB backup , which are returned to scratch after 2 days via del volh admin schedule and the others for the storage pool backup. Is there a way to reserve tapes? Should we use separate storage pools?

4. Is it possible to assign certain tapes to certain storage pools, e.g. tape01 - tape04 for pool one and so on?

Many thanks in advance

Kind Regards Mana

Hello,

1. How can I tell, which backup is on which tape(s)?

You don't have to know. All you need to know is which tape pool your data belongs to if you have defined multiple tape pools for different node functionality: File/Print, DB, Exchange, etc.

2. It is planned that tape media goes offsite e.g. into a bank vault. Can I use the checkout libvol command for that purpose or is there another command for that? Backupsets are not possible in our situation because there is no storage pool with the devclass file.

Yes; tapes that go offsite are called offsite tapes and are copies of tapes that reside in the tape library called online tape pool. These tapes goes to offsite for DR purposes. If you are not using DRM, then "checkout libvol" is the command to use to move offsite tapes.

If you need to use backupsets, you can use tapes for storing the backup data. Just define a relevant devclass for it.