You will lose the arrangements you have made, but not the smartset definitions,
so they will be repopulated when the nodes are rediscovered. Regarding network
names, I believe, on Netview for NT, that if you provide a file called
it will use that to name the subnets. Segments (underneath the subnets) will be
called Segment1, Segment2, etc as before if that's what you really mean.
I generally count on having to rediscover the network several times before I
am through with an implementation, so I make a point of not investing too
in customization until I'm happy with the discovery. Then I think about the day
when I might have to do it again, and decide not to cut and paste it too deeply.
Then I take a good backup of the map database under /usr/OV/databases/openview
in case of corruption. That way I can restore to that point and let it sync up.
Leslie A. Clark
IBM Global Services - Systems Mgmt & Networking
I need to delete and rediscovery my network. I have created custom smartsets and
submaps under them. If I reset the database (with preserve smartsets checked)
will all my customizations disappear anyway?
Some of my customizations include the naming by hand of dozens of network