x on file object when doing a restore

Noob

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Hi Folks

I have wanted to restore some files on a client server using the backup-archive gui on the client server. When opening the restore option and expanding the tree to file level let x's appear on some of the objects. What do they mean?

Thanls

Thanks Stephen...i'm very new to TSM (Hence the nic)...I dont believe we have any pol's but sort of condition(s) in the pols would prevent these from being recovered?

I dont believe we have any pol's but sort of condition(s) in the pols would prevent these from being recovered?

The inactive files means that there are/were newer files in its place. You can recover these files by doing a restore should you need to get back information from the "older" files.

Last edited:
moon-buddy...so does this mean that the new file hasnt been backedup or are you saying that there are multiple versions?

Technically, you can recover those files just fine since TSM still has them, but they are not considered the active version of that file. Either the file was deleted a while ago and TSM is retaining it until it officially expires or that file is the 2nd or 3rd or whatever version of the active file on the server still...As mentioned, this all depends on the Retention policies that your node falls under. If you can't recover the file, check the activity log on the TSM server

How can I check the policy\expiration values?

On the TSM server, you can check what domain your node belongs to and its associated management classes which have the retention policies.

Check the option files on your nodes to see if you bind a specific backup to a management class and you could also, using the command line (or gui) check the associated domain and MCs. for example, on a AIX box, start the command line client with dsmc. Then at the prompt issue a query mgmtclass