1. Forum Rules (PLEASE CLICK HERE TO READ BEFORE POSTING) Click the link to access ADSM.ORG Acceptable Use Policy and forum rules which should be observed when using this website. Violators may be banned from this website. This message will disappear after you have made at least 12 posts. Thank you for your cooperation.

when directory is moved, TSM backs up is contents... again

Discussion in 'TSM Client' started by afrankel, Nov 20, 2012.

  1. afrankel

    afrankel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have TSM 6.3 running on the server, and clients with GPFS filesystems that we are backing up.

    The problem is that a user can do a move (or rename) on a directory, and the whole directory will be backed up again. For example, let's suppose does a :

    mv /lb/projects/projectA to /lb/projects/Project01

    Then TSM will re-back up all the contents of /lb/projects/projectA as /lb/projects/Project01.

    Is there a setting we can do to avoid this?

    Thank You,

    Andras Frankel
     
  2.  
  3. domino

    domino Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    32
    Occupation:
    System Engineer
    Location:
    Germany
    it works as designed
     
  4. afrankel

    afrankel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have Space Management on the client (using GPFS.) In the scenario above, what would happen if files have already been migrated? It would back up the stub only, or it would recall the file to back it up again?

    Andras
     
  5. moon-buddy

    moon-buddy Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    6,206
    Likes Received:
    279
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer, Security Professional
    Location:
    Somewhere in the US
    Files Migrated?

    TSM will back it up again and create a new stub. The OLD one does not exist so TSM has to start anew.
     
  6. afrankel

    afrankel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, just so that I am 100% certain:

    if /lb/projects/projectA/file is migrated, and then it is moved to /lb/projects/projectB/file

    Then the next sceduled backup will recall /lb/projects/projectB/file, create the subb, and back it up again?

    Thanks,

    Andras
     

Share This Page