Storage Manager for Enterprise Resource Planning

tsmlover

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Storage Manager for Enterprise Resource Planning

Last edited:
You choses to do your backup throught RMAN or Using BRTools. We use BRTools. The SAP basis do the backup/restore. But I control the retention time of the backup.

For my fisrt Configuration I use the RED Book.

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/tivihelp/v1r1/index.jsp

and select
IBM Tivoli Storage Manager for Enterprise Resource Planning

Chapiter 4 is were you start.

I use 2 mount points with Multiplexing 4.
For your SAP systeme, I suggest you collocate by filespace and NOT by group. Collocation by group will impact the restore performance..

We test SAP restore every month.. so we had alot of time to fine tune the option in the .sys.opt and utl file.

I have been using TDP for SAP - Oracle since 1996 (before it was TDP) and we have only used the BRTools. It is easy and gives very good performance. If you need help with configuring the opt/sys files and the utl file, please ask away.

We have 2 sessions with 3 multiplexing and sync-write to a copy pool at the same time. Backs up a 3TB DB in about 7 hours.

-Aaron

hhm ok now i need to learn the intigration of BR tool with TDP for ERP ok

and why i need TSM for DB and TSM for ERP cant we only use TSM for ERP to perform the backup job ?

hhm ok, tell me what about RMAN, can i perform these tasks with DP for SAP with BR tool and there is no need of RMAN ?

tell me one thing more, how to integrate BR tool with DP for SAP, i didn't work on BR tool before

yes you don't need RMAN or DP for Oracle... Just install the DP for SAP, it's wizard based installer and helps you to configure it and follow the configuration instructions. After all you'll schedule your backups from DB13 screen of sap gui...

DB13 screen of SAP GUI ? first i need to install DP for SAP on SAP server and create the node on TSM server associate that node with DP for SAP, than what ?