Question on parallel streams?

ldmwndletsm

ADSM.ORG Senior Member
Reaction score
This might be the wrong category to post this thread?

I'm new to TSM, but ...

1. Does TSM allow you to control how many save streams can be backed up to a single drive and/or how many streams a given client (or node) can send to the TSM server simultaneously?

For example, if I have a single stanza (one node) for a client, and it has 100 file systems, does it actually walk each of these one at a time, backs it up (whatever has changed, natch) and then moves on to the next file system and so on and so forth? Or does it instead parallelize the operation wherein multiple data chunks from different file systems (collocation notwitstanding, of course) are wrapped together (interleaved) and then sent to the drive?

2. Does client side compression change this behavior?

3. How can you adjust these values?

For example, I see 'maxprocess' for the 'backup stgpool' command, but can this be set for when the backups actually run from the client, e.g. if you were writing directly to tape?

I have to say that we're planning to back up to disk and then move that to tape. It will not sit on disk very long, however, (maybe one day), and we will not be using a disk cache. Maybe it's moot then since it will go to disk first? But would it be more efficient to have multiple file systems backing up from the client to disk at the same time?