Problem in TSM with active/archive logs

myrepublic

Newcomer
Reaction score
PREDATAR Control23

Hi guys,

I am new to TSM world. Pardon me for my naive questions.

I have TSM 6.2.1 configured for 4 nodes. Server and clients are on windows. These client nodes are scheduled for daily backup with 1 hr interval gap between 2 backups(8:00 PM to 11:00 PM). Next day when I log in to my system I find that my TSM server is not running. When I try to start the server (using dsmserv), it throws an error something like "rdbdb.c : Server LOG space exhausted" and server wont start. I somehow figured that it is because of my active log size is full. So I move some active logs from its current location to some other storage location(other hard disk) without configuring anything in TSM. After that TSM server starts perfectly fine. When I query last scheduled backup, it shows that scheduled backup of one node is "completed" while backup of other 3 nodes are still "In Progress". While querying session, TSM shows no session for these nodes is currently active.

TSM was configured by someone before I knew anything about TSM. In current configuration, 1 local drive is dedicated for active log and it is currently full. 1 local drive is dedicated for archive log and it is also full. So whenever this problem occurs everytime I have to move my active log to other location.

Now I have some questions regarding this problem.
• Are active/archive logs required for any TSM operation?
• Can I change the the current path of storage of active and archive logs? If so how and what about older logs generated?
• How can I limit the size of active and archive logs? After limiting it, will it have any implication on any TSM operation?

Thanks.

PREDATAR Control23

Quick response - if you back up the db, that should clear your logs. The logs are needed for keeping DB2 consistent, so moving them around and/or deleting them can be problematic.

PREDATAR Control23

Hello,