1. Community Tip: Please Give Thanks to Those Sharing Their Knowledge.
    If you receive helpful answer on this forum, please show thanks to the poster by clicking "LIKE" link for the answer that you found helpful.
  2. Community Tip: Forum Rules (PLEASE CLICK HERE TO READ BEFORE POSTING)
    Click the link above to access ADSM.ORG Acceptable Use Policy and forum rules which should be observed when using this website. Violators may be banned from this website. This notice will disappear after you have made at least 3 posts.

Pre-migration backup storage pool and HSM storage pool contain different number of files

Discussion in 'Hierarchical Storage Management' started by tivolimistery, Oct 4, 2017.

  1. tivolimistery

    tivolimistery ADSM.ORG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear All,

    a few years ago, I configured HSM environment (using HSM client version 6.2 and TSM server v.5.5) on a GPFS file system (v.3.5) .
    In order to backup all files before migrate them, I created a script that, started by LowSpace event detected by GPFS servers, first executes an incremental backup of the mmPolicyXXX.hsm filelists content and then executes the migration of the same files.
    Everything seems to be ok, but I noticed that the number of tapes and files managed by PREMIGRATION BACKUP storage pool is greater than HSM storage pool.

    Anyone of us could explain why it happen and how I can correct this behaviour?

    Thank you in advance,
    Mauro
     
  2.  
  3. tivolimistery

    tivolimistery ADSM.ORG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. tivolimistery

    tivolimistery ADSM.ORG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    I just realized that the difference is caused by the number of version of backup service. I see that backup service saves 2 versions of each file.
    Can I reduce this value (from 2 to 1) using the Integrated Solution Console? In your opinion, could be allowed this kind of change? Do you think that the backup used space will be reduced after the change?

    Thank you in advance,
    Mauro
     

Share This Page