Point-in-time directory recovery on Unix clients - useless?

Bartacus

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Website
Visit site
Has anyone in here been able to successfully use TSMs point-in-time restore feature on Unix clients? I ran into my first P.I.T. request today and I'm not impressed. We were asked to do a restore for a certain directory on a Solaris Unix client today (eg /opt/bart).

The request: restore this folder, back dated to March 10th, 2005.

The problem: since the directory has been backed up daily, and files within it change frequently, the Unix date on the directory is always very recent. When you invoke TSMs P.I.T. feature from the GUI, you can't even select the directory for restoration since the directories date is much newer than the date selected in the P.I.T. setting, thus it is filtered out.

Now I'm still fairly new to TSM and am mostly self-taught, so forgive me if I'm missing something obvious here. What is the point of having this P.I.T. feature if you can't properly apply it to a directory structure?!?! Feel free to have a good laugh at my expense if this is a "TSM noob" problem. :grin:

Bart

Hi Bart,

sorry, but as usual this should be your selfmade problem. Well, obviously you may load backup copies iff (i.e. "if and only if") you had made a backup copy before. Let us say, you made this copy on a regular basis, e.g. daily. TSM server has associated a management class with this backup copies. Especially have a look at the default management class or that one you explicitly associated in the include/exclude definition table. The trick is: the management class itself does not give you a lot of information about certain essential values. However, the backup copygroup belonging to a management class does. Please have a look at it on your TSM server. The backup copygroup contains the information on how long a backup copy is to be stored or how long it is to be kept on the server.