planned offsite strategy of a tsm newbe

kwesi

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
PREDATAR Control23

hi ppl :)

as a tsm newbie i try to plan a backup strategy with TSM. i used backupexec(symantec/veritas) and dataprotector (Hp) before but never tsm.

The incremental forever strategy used by tsm worries me a little bit, because i was used to do full-backups every week and offsited them.

now, in tsm i dont know (also after reading redbooks and more...) how to realise this in the best way... maybe some of you TSM experts can give me an advice :)

i have to backup about 30-40 servers with tsm.

so i planned to backup with 3 storage pools with migration:

1. Disk_Pool (disk)
2. Tape_Pool (tapes)

3. Offsite_Pool (also tapes)

every week or month (interval not sure now) i want to copy disk and tape pool to the offsite_pool and define the tapes as offsite to take them out of the lib and to another place. of course i also want to backup the database and offsite this tape too. so if the tsm server crashes i could set up a new one, restore the database and everything is fine.

my questions are:
- does this work like i imagine?

- is this the best solution/strategy to deal with offsite media with tsm?

- if files expire, are they unavailable/deleted in the database or can they be restored with offsite tapes?

i would be very grateful if i get some opinions of expierienced tsm-users/admins to get this working in a right way:)

PREDATAR Control23

kwesi,

You've got the basics of how it's supposed to work.

- does this work like i imagine?
Pretty much. You need to define your offsite_pool as a copypool, and backup disk_pool and tape_pool to it. Do this on a daily basis so you're not having to do a week/month worth all at once- and to protect you against media failure. (Note: These tasks need to be scheduled by you, theres nothing defined by default)

- is this the best solution/strategy to deal with offsite media with tsm?