Netbackup vs. TSM

luky24

Newcomer
Reaction score
Hi all,
i am an newbie here but my company is looking for a new backupsoftware.

I need some differents between TSM and Netbackup. What would you chose and why would you chose NBU oder TSM?

We need to backup :

2 Oracle RAC Instances
4 AIX Server
2 Sun Server
15 Windows Server

I hope you can help me to chose the right product :)

Thx Christoph

TSM:

TSM is a Data Management system as opposed to NetBackup which is just what it is: a backup system.

As a Data Management system, you have the ability for DR planning and various Business Continuity options.

Hi,

both are mature, enterprise solutions. Thing is that they are very difficult to compare. TSM is very different from everything you can find and it is its strength and weakness at the same time.
Whichever you choose, be sure you get proper training.
You have to think about more than system types. Amount of data, backup windows, bare metal DR capabilities for various OSs, your HW (space for disk based pools, number and type of your tape drives), LAN free backup requirements ... not an easy task.
And of course there is - money for licenses :)

TSM is really good if you have plenty of disk space and can take advantage of incremental forever (which is not an option with databases). It is "home" on AIX ....
If TSM wins, do not try to "force" it to classic "full+incr" schema - way to hell (and never back)

Again - training and understanding the product (both) is the key

Harry

I'm working with both of this products. I can't say they are both enterprise. If you call TSM enterprise, they you just can't call NetBackup enterprise product. It has a lot of less features then TSM.

Many times I just think that NetBackup was programmed by a few students that never finished school. There are lots of limitations. TSM is just starting where NetBackup is finishing...

Anyway NetBackup is a good product for Midrange or Hi-Midrange solutions. But not for enterprise...