How often do you buy tapes

mosiac

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
If you haven't gathered from my other threads so far I'm still pretty new to TSM but I'm trying to really get my head around everything.

I'm wondering how much data people have on average and how often they are buying tapes?

I feel like I'm ordering way too many tapes compared to how much data I have.

We purchase tapes on a fairly regular basis maybe 20 or so a month and some of those reasons I'm trying to solve and hopefully lower the amount of tapes puchased for archival but are any of you buying tapes that frequently and why?

Thanks,

There are many things you will have to check. For example compare your DRM volumes with the volumes that have a status of Vault. If you do not keep on top of it tapes sometimes seem to become orphaned. You will have to check tapes that are offsite and be sure that they belong to a storage pool and query the contents.
I had a customer that chronically ran out of tapes and one day we had them bring the volumes back after a DR and they compared them to what should be offsite and onsite. They ended up finding about 100 volumes that were in limbo. It is a tedious process to do the compares but that is the only way I know of to find volumes.
Also make sure that expire inventory runs regularly and that offsite reclamation is running.
The other aspect is to look at your management classes to see what type of retention you have. I had anther customer that keep everything with a NOLIMIT and other data for 7 years. They also complained about buy volumes.

I'll take a look. I think a large part of our tape eating is generating backupsets weekly of every node in our environment when I'm not sure if that's truly needed. Also I'm almost positive I have some limbo tapes in my copy pool as well in DRM sets.

Thanks for the ideas.

rallingham is right