Hints on certification

chad_small

ADSM.ORG Moderator
Reaction score
Website
www.tsmadmin.com
As a previous TSM instructor I have been able to identify the key areas of studying that are needed for success in certification.

1. You will live and die by IBM's network transfer rate's table. That is the standard for IBM answers throughout the test. It is available in the rebooks and in the TSM Advance Administration class books. Learn it, live it, love it. It is actually pretty accurate if not a little conservative on average rates, but will give you the correct answer every time.

2. Know your DB, LOG, and STORAGE POOL creation and allocation procedures (i.e. Know how to size the DB if Y number of files will be backed up and X number of versions kept considering 600 bytes per file in storage). Also understand the DB Cache Hit and Cache Wait Percentage best practice and settings, along with the LOG Percent Utilized and Percent Wait settings and procedures. It might only be a question or two but every question counts.

3. Know correct policy domain creation steps.

A. Define Domain

B. Define Policy Set

C. Define Management Class

D. Define Copy Groups

E. Define Default Management Class

G. Validate Policy Set

H. Activate Policy Set

I tend to skip the validation part but they wont on the test.

5. Most importantly know how TSM processes INCLUDES and EXCLUDES. If you don't know them like the back of your hand you will have a hard time certifying.

6. Know DB backup/restore procedures and how TSM handles offsite information.

7. Take the Advanced Admin class if possible. Alot is learned in that class that is on the test like performance tuning and DB restore procedures.

8. DRM makes up 1-2 questions MAX if at all so don't worry as much on that subject. in the two years as a TSM instructor I taught the DRM class twice. It never had huge demand.