General questions about archiving

flump

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Hello All ! First post here, I've lurked here sometime and now decided to join :)

I'm quite new to TSM and I have a bunch of unaswerd practical questions that I will be bugging you with over time, and here comes the first one.

Where i work we use TSM 90% of the time for archive purposes, we generate quite a lot of data daily, and we need to keep it stored for various reasons, we use TSM for that, we have some simple scripts that do most of the "hard work", the main issue with TSM are reliability and overall performance but we are going to look into that, this happens for various hardware and configuration reasons, that we are trying to adress.

One of the things that happens from time to time is that one of my archive tasks fail during processing, for X reason.

When that happens I delete the partial data from the archive and start over ... this is becoming a big deal as I'm facing bigger and bigger folders to store.

Is it possible to archive data so that tsm takes advantage of what's already stored and just start from where it was interrupted ?

like the --skip-existing flag of grsync per say.... ?

Thank you very much !

have a good day

Hi Flump and welcome to to the forums.. :cool:

Are you able to provide us with some more information about the archiving issue you're having? What would be particulalry helpful is the following?

-What TSM Server & client versions are in use, including OS's
-The dsm.opt/dsm.sys file content on the clients side
-The dsmerror.log / dsmsched.log entries from the client around the time of the failure?

From here people should have a much better idea of whats going on?

Regards

Hi ILCattivo :) ( italian by any chanche ? )

Thank you for the reply, yeah i completely forgot to add some specs,

- tsm is 6.3.something (i think 2 i needo to check but i'm out of office)
- the machine is an ibm 3550 m3 os is Linux centos 5.1.x
3 libraries