DR site plannig + VTL replication

avinim8

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
PREDATAR Control23

Hi,
Today we are moving tapes from the primary site to the secondary one manually by truck. We bought 2 VTL machines so that the critical data will back up directly to the VTL (or to disks and then migrated to the VTL) and then will be replicated by the primary VTL to the secondary one. I have several questions regarding this configuration:
1. The TSM server is not aware to the data replication process between both VTLs, so it does not know anything about the data stored in the secondary VTL. right?
2. What should I do once the primary site fails? restore the TSM DB to the secondary TSM server in the DR site? How will it know all the data stored in the VTL?

Is there anything else I should think about for this configuration to work?

Thanks,

Avi

PREDATAR Control23

i'm not an expert.. but I dont know if this will be support by IBM. Correct me if i'm wrong

1. The TSM server is not aware to the data replication process between both VTLs, so it does not know anything about the data stored in the secondary VTL. right?

YES tsm is not aware of the "replication" process between the 2 VTL if you use the one provide by the VTL manufacturer.

2. What should I do once the primary site fails? restore the TSM DB to the secondary TSM server in the DR site? How will it know all the data stored in the VTL?

Not sure if it will work... just think of the space reclamation process.. if the replication process between the 2 vtl's is running and you lost your primary site. you start your DB recovery... and the data in the other VTL is not synch..