1. Forum Rules (PLEASE CLICK HERE TO READ BEFORE POSTING) Click the link to access ADSM.ORG Acceptable Use Policy and forum rules which should be observed when using this website. Violators may be banned from this website. This message will disappear after you have made at least 12 posts. Thank you for your cooperation.

Discard data =yes

Discussion in 'Backup / Archive Discussion' started by tsmdumber, Oct 8, 2012.

  1. tsmdumber

    tsmdumber New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi,

    I have a volume which is damaged. Unfortunately that volume does not have a secondary copy.

    this volume contains only flat files backups .

    I figure there is only 1 way to recover the lost data which is querry the list of servers backed up in that tape and do a full backup on those mentioned list.

    My question is what if i Delete the volume with discard data=yes option will the lost data be backed up during the next incremental backup?

    I know this is a long shot I am just hoping against hope because list of the servers on that tape is huge.

    Regards,

    TSMDUMBER
     
  2.  
  3. inestler

    inestler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    switzerland
    hmm ... lost data is lost for sure ... what will happen during next incemental backup? the clients checks the last active version on the TSM-DB and all new and changed objects on the client will be backuped.
    deleted objects are marked as inactive.
     
  4. tsmdumber

    tsmdumber New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks.

    in that case say a dll file which never modifies and hence there is only 1 version available.

    after i do the delet volume this file is no longer avilable in backups. Would this make the file eligible for next incremental?
     
  5. tsmdumber

    tsmdumber New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    3
    in that case,

    say a dll file..... which never modifies and hence has only 1 version available.

    So after i do the delete volume this file is no longer available in backup.

    Would this make the file eligible for next incremental?
     
  6. inestler

    inestler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    switzerland
    yes - if the file is still on the client filesystem
     
    tsmdumber likes this.
  7. olis

    olis New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi guys,

    better approach would be do update the volume to destroyed. If a volume is destroyed and a backupjob find the damaged files (from this volume) o a client, i will automatically saved on a new volume. The file record on the damaged volume will be removed. Doing that way, you can still see the missing files. (if you want;) )

    greetings
     
  8. tsmdumber

    tsmdumber New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks Olis!

    I opted for deleting data because i dont want the client to show a file which can not be restored!

    difficult to explain to the management and the admins! i am better off with a file not available in restore window rather having a file which can not be restored!
     
  9. olis

    olis New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    I know... i know, that the reason for (if you want ;) )
     

Share This Page