Daily Schedule - What processes and order do you use?

droach

ADSM.ORG Senior Member
Reaction score
I am new to the 'PROTECT STGPOOL' and 'REPLICATE NODE *' world and am curious if since adding these processes to my Daily Schedule I should rethink the order of the tasks in my schedule. In particular, the 'Expiration' process.

The Expiration task has always been the last task in my schedule, but with the two new replication tasks I am wondering if Expiration should be run prior to protect and replicate? I mean, why replicate expired or soon to be expired data, right?

Here is what the Daily schedule on my 'source' currently looks like:

BAckup DB DEVclass=db_backup Wait=Yes Type=Full Scratch=Yes
Prepare Source=DBBackup Wait=Yes
BAckup DEVCONFig Filenames=L:\TSM\DEVCONFIG\devconf.out
BAckup VOLHistory Filenames=L:\TSM\DEVCONFIG\volhist.out
MOVe DRMedia * WHERESTate=VAULTRetrieve TOSTate=ONSITERetrive Wait=Yes
MOVe DRMedia * WHERESTate=MOuntable TOSTate=VAult Wait=Yes
PROTect STGPool AZUREFILE Wait=Yes
REPLicate Node * Wait=Yes
EXPIre Inventory Quiet=Yes Type=ALl REsource=9 SKipdirs=No

Any comments or suggestions are appreciated.

You should to do your protect/replicate before the backup db.

The idea is that as soon as your clients are done backing up, you protect and replicate the data. The quicker you can get your copy at the target location, the better protected you are. Same as when you had a traditional pool, you'd do your backup stgpool right after the client backup.

Attachments

• SP 24hr Circle.jpg
    SP 24hr Circle.jpg
    116.7 KB · Views: 13
I understand your point about expiration, but the expiration does nothing to get your data protected. And you wouldn't be replicating what's expired, you're replicating new backups while expiration expires old data.