Confusion with multiple TDPO opt files

AreEss

ADSM.ORG Member
Reaction score
Hello, all. I'm relatively new to TSM, and entirely new to TSM+RMAN. (Not so new to RMAN.) As a result, I'm faced with more than a little confusion regarding how to configure TSM/TDPO in my environment.

I have several Unix servers running Oracle, which are segregated by version. e.g. Oracle 9i is over on nodeA, Oracle 10g is over on nodeB. On each node, I have upward of 8 specific database instances. Thusly leading to my confusion after poring over the documentation. Configuring Domain, check. Configuring Management Classes, check. Configuring Nodes, screeching halt.
My confusion stems from how exactly each node is named and configured. By my understanding, I have a single dsm.sys which does not need to be owned by oracle (my Oracle user, how inventive I am!) located in /opt/tivoli/tsm/client/oracle/bin64. This file looks something like this:

Code:
 SErvername  tdpo
COMMMethod TCPip
TCPPort 1500
TCPServeraddress tsmserver
nodename ora10prod
tcpclienta cluddor100b
errorlogname /etc/oracle/log/tdpo.error.default
errorlogretention 30 D
passwordaccess generate
passworddir /etc/oracle/passwd

Obviously, /etc/oracle being owned by oracle, and extraneous parts trimmed out. The absence of dsmi* and includexcl is deliberate, and the part I am having trouble understanding. I will be firing different databases, all on the same Management Class, but at different times and with different options. I can't seem to find a good example or explanation of how to do this, or how I should address the issue of nodename.
My personal thought (and please correct me if I'm wrong here) is that I would want to backup each instance as a unique node name; e.g. testdbA on ora10dev as Node testdbA in Domain RMAN, testdbC on ora10dev as Node testdbC in Domain RMAN, etc. Is this correct, or should I back up all instances with the same node name?