1. Community Tip: Please Give Thanks to Those Sharing Their Knowledge.
    If you receive helpful answer on this forum, please show thanks to the poster by clicking "LIKE" link for the answer that you found helpful.
  2. Community Tip: Forum Rules (PLEASE CLICK HERE TO READ BEFORE POSTING)
    Click the link above to access ADSM.ORG Acceptable Use Policy and forum rules which should be observed when using this website. Violators may be banned from this website. This notice will disappear after you have made at least 3 posts.

Change 'copy destination' for copygroup

Discussion in 'Backup / Archive Discussion' started by combato, Apr 18, 2017.

  1. combato

    combato ADSM.ORG Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Adapt, improvise, overcome...
    Location:
    Sweden
    Hi Pro's

    I tried to find answer to what will happened when you change the copy destination of a copygroup but I did not find what I was looking for.

    1. If I change the copy destination for a copygroup to some other stgpool than the present, what will happened to data that has already been backed up to the old stgpool? Can I restore this data without any problem? Will the retention time stay unchanged? Other things to think about?
    2. The current stgpool that the copy destination points to is of data format 'NetApp Dump' and the new format is 'Native'. Is there any things I need to think about that will make the data that has been backed up to the old stgpool?
    The reason I want to change copy destination is that I earlier have been running NDMP in node scoped mode, but I now have started to run NDMP via CAB (non-node-scoped mode) and need to have a native stgpool to make this backup possible.

    /C
     
  2.  
  3. marclant

    marclant ADSM.ORG Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,424
    Likes Received:
    343
    Occupation:
    Accelerated Value Specialist for Spectrum Protect
    Location:
    Canada
    HELP UPDATE COPYGROUP:
    upload_2017-4-18_8-57-1.png

    This means it's only used during the backup for the data currently being backed up.

    Nothing.
    Yes as far as the data is concerned. However not sure how you are doing your NDMP change, I don't know if you will need to switch back to "node scoped mode" to read old data. I just don't know.
    Yes, unless you changed it.
    Not sure what you mean by that.
     

Share This Page